for excellence in Civil Services' General Studies

OnTo Independence

Indian Independence Act

The British Parliament passed the Indian Independence Act on 18th July 1947 based on Viceroy Lord Mountbatten's proposal. Some of the its provisions were:

  • On the 15th of August 1947, two sovereign states, India and Pakistan will come into existence and the King of England will no more be called the 'Emperor of England'.
  • The Constituent Assemblies of India and Pakistan will prepare their respective constitutions.



  • There will be two different Governor General for these two states. They will administer these states till the new constitution comes into force.
  • The British will have no authority over the princely states from 15th of August 1947. The states will be free to join either India or Pakistan or remain free.
  • After the 15th August 1947, the British Parliament will not have any right to make laws for India.


www.csgsindia.com is growing every moment, ...., keep on visiting csgsINDIA for revision, reinforcement and regularity

Best viewed @ 800 X 600 Resolution --Disclaimer-- All Rights Reserved with csgsINDIA.com