for excellence in Civil Services' General Studies

National Commission for BC


National Commission for Backward Classes, an Indian statutory body, was established on 14 August 1993, under the provisions of National Commission for Backward Classes Act, 1993 (Act No. 27 of 1993).

The commission was the outcome of the direction of the Supreme Court in the Mandal case judgement

The NCBC Bill, passed by Lok Sabha in 2017, will insert Article 338B into the Constitution after Articles 338 and 338A which deal with the National Commission for Scheduled Castes (SC) and National Commission for Scheduled Tribes (ST) respectively.



  • Two Backward Class Commissions were appointed in 1950s and 1970s under Kaka Kalelkar and B.P. Mandal respectively.
  • In Indra Sawhney case of 1992, Supreme Court had directed the government to create a permanent body to entertain, examine and recommend the inclusion and exclusion of various Backward Classes for the purpose of benefits and protection.
  • In pursuant to these directions parliament passed National Commission for Backward Classes Act in 1993 and constituted the NCBC.
  • 123rd Constitution Amendment bill of 2017 was introduced in Parliament to safeguard the interests of backward classes more effectively.
  • Parliament has also passed a separate bill to repeal the National Commission for Backward Classes Act, 1993, thus 1993 act became irrelevant after passing the bill.
  • The bill got the President assent in August 2018 and provided the constitutional status to NCBC.



Section 3 of the Act provides that the Commission shall consist of five Members: a Chairperson who is or has been a judge of the Supreme Court or of a High Court; a social scientist; two persons who have special knowledge in matters relating to backward classes; and a Member-Secretary, who is or has been an officer of the Central Government in the rank of a Secretary to GoI.

Their term is of Three years

Current members (As in April 2017)
Chairperson Justice Vangala Eshwaraiah
Secretary - A. K. Mangotra
Member- S.K.Kharventhan
Member - A. K. Saini
Member - Shakeel-uz-Zaman Ansari


www.csgsindia.com is growing every moment, ...., keep on visiting csgsINDIA for revision, reinforcement and regularity

Best viewed @ 800 X 600 Resolution --Disclaimer-- All Rights Reserved with csgsINDIA.com