for excellence in Civil Services' General Studies

National Human Rights Commission


The National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) of India is an autonomous public body constituted on 12 October 1993 under the Protection of Human Rights Ordinance of 28 September 1993.

 It was given a statutory basis by the Protection of Human Rights Act, 1993 (TPHRA)

NHRC consists of:

A Chairperson, should be retired Chief Justice of India
One Member who is, or has been, a Judge of the Supreme Court of India
One Member who is, or has been, the Chief Justice of a High Court
Two Members to be appointed from among persons having knowledge of, or practical experience in, matters relating to human rights
In addition, the Chairpersons of four National Commissions of ( 1.Minorities 2.SC and ST 3.Women) serve as ex officio members.

Note :

1.The sitting Judge of the Supreme Court or sitting Chief Justice of any HIgh Court can be appointed only after the consultation with the Chief Justice of Supreme Court.

2. An amendment in 2006 has provided that Chairperson of National Commission for SC and National Commission for ST shall be deemed to be members of NHRC









Justice Ranganath Misra

12 October 1993 - 24 November 1996



Justice M N Venkatachaliah

26 November 1996 - 24 October 1999



Justice J S Verma

4 November 1999 - 17 January 2003



Dr. Justice A S Anand

17 February 2003 - 31 October 2006



Justice Dr. Shivaraj Patil*

1 November 2006 - 1 April 2007



Justice Govind Prasad Mathur

1 June 2009 - 6 June 2010

7 Justice K G Balakrishnan 7 June 2010 - 11 May 2015
8 Justice H.L. Dattu 29  Feb 2016


As in April 2019



www.csgsindia.com is growing every moment, ...., keep on visiting csgsINDIA for revision, reinforcement and regularity

Best viewed @ 800 X 600 Resolution --Disclaimer-- All Rights Reserved with csgsINDIA.com